Manchester Science Festival 2015

Last year, we were happily involved as members of the public in Manchester Science Festival.

This year, we stepped up and decided we needed to take part. Out of an initial four possible proposals, three went on to be listed as events. And we couldn’t be more excited. Science and alcohol, what could possibly go wrong?


Ginesis: Distill my beating heart

Gin meets science in this tasting. With 6 gins, master distillers and Charlie Hooson-Sykes talking you through a tutored tasting featuring a little on gin, a little on tonic and a little on garnishes. Even geekier, we’re using the brand new space in Manchester Museum to host our event.

Thu 29 Oct 2015 7pm – 10pm

Manchester Museum, The University of Manchester, Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9PL

£21.85 (includes a booking fee). Booking required

Hopped on Music

Renowned beer writer Pete Brown will match beer with music in a look at memory, flavour and sound. Five beers will be matched to 5 pieces of music as a we mix neuroscience with alcohol.

Wed 28 Oct 2015 7pm – 9pm
Bar open till late

Kosmonaut, 10 Tariff Street, Manchester, M1 2FF

£12.95. Booking required


The Light Fantastic

In an exhibition of light and colour, images from Leeds University and the University of Manchester will be exhibited in Tariff & Dale in the Northern Quarter of Manchester, showing just how beautiful science can be.

Thu 22 Oct 2015 7pm – 1am
Fri 23 Oct 2015 10am – 2am
Sat 24 Oct 2015 10am – 2am
Sun 25 Oct 2015 10am
Mon 26 Oct 2015 10am
Tue 27 Oct 2015 10am
Wed 28 Oct 2015 10am
Thu 29 Oct 2015 10am
Fri 30 Oct 2015 10am – 2am
Sat 31 Oct 2015 10am – 2am
Sun 1 Nov 2015 10am – 2am

Tariff & Dale, 2 Tariff Street, Manchester , M1 2FN

Free to attend

We hope you can join us for one of our fantastic adventures this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *